[Accepted] 2022 WWDC Swift Student Challenge — Burn Calories

林柏戎
4 min readMay 25, 2022

Background 背景

I’m currently a senior in National Taiwan Ocean University, majoring in department of communications, navigation and control engineering. I have one year experience coding in Swift UI, started in an iOS course. My iOS portfolio includes e-books, tools, and minor games, for more information please visit other stories on my Medium(link). This is my first time attending the WWDC Swift Student Challenge, advised by teacher Pan.

我目前就讀於國立台灣海洋大學通訊與導航工程學系四年級,一年前在校內課程撰寫iOS時接觸到 Swift UI。 我的iOS作品包括電子書、工具以及遊戲,更多細節可以參閱Medium的其他文章(連結在這)。本次是我第一次參加WWDC Swift Student Challenge,受潘世穎老師指導。

Motivation 參與動機

I acknowledge this event held by Apple from the seniors who won the award last time. I’ve also noticed that this challenge focused on student’s creativity from last year’s works. In addition, I have strong interest and confidence in iOS development and Swift, therefore, I decided to take this year’s challenge.

我從上次得獎的學長口中得知Apple所舉辦的這項活動,並且從去年WWDC Student Challenge的作品中注意到 ,這個挑戰相當重視學生們創新的創意。另外,我對於iOS app開發以及撰寫swift語言具備強力的興趣與自信,因此選擇報名今年的挑戰。

Work Inspiration 作品靈感

Inspired by Covid-19 relationships. Since the outbreak of Covid-19, many changes have taken place in our daily life, including wearing masks when going out, distance learning and working from home, etc. In order to prevent Covid-19, try to reduce outdoor activities as much as possible. So I hope that I can use simple and safe home exercises, such as sitting-up, running and jumping rope, etc., to strengthen my own protection and maintain physical fitness.

啟發於Covid-19的關係。自從Covid-19爆發到現在,我們日常生活發生很多變化,包括出門要戴口罩、遠距離上課上班等等。為防範新冠肺炎疫情,盡量減少外出活動。所以希望在家可以透過簡單安全的運動,例如:伏立挺身、跑步、跳繩等等,加強自身防護力並維持體能。

Work Description 作品說明

A game featuring controlling calories by using Swift UI and AV Foundation. Players can think about the importance of diet and exercise while playing. With simple layouts and colors, players feel comfortable while playing. The goal of this game is to control the calorie management they absorb on a daily basis. Instructions page which explains game rules detailly shows after the player hits the “How To Play” button.In the middle of the game page, you can choose different genders, and you can adjust the parameters of the game below, including: how much heat to absorb, exercise mode, etc. After clicking the “Next” button, different exercise modes will appear; after pressing “Finish”, the timer stops, and different results are displayed according to how much heat is absorbed. Wish all to have fun while playing!!

運用SwiftUI以及AVFoundation等工具完成一個控制熱量的小遊戲。主要特色是玩家在遊玩的過程中也能同時思考飲食與運動重要性。在設計上簡單乾淨,讓玩家在遊玩體驗上更加舒適。玩家的目標是控制自身每日吸收的熱量管理。點選”How To Play”按鈕後會進入到遊戲說明頁面,講解遊戲的遊玩方式與細節。遊戲頁面的中間可以選擇不同的性別,在下方可以調整遊戲的參數,包括:吸收多少熱量、運動模式等等。點下”Next”的按鈕後會出現不同的運動模式;按下”Finish”後計時器停止,根據吸收多少熱量來不同顯示不同的結果。祝所有玩家遊玩愉快!

Work Status 作品狀態

Accepted

獲獎

Accepted Awards 獲獎獎品

祝賀卡、帽T、毛帽、胸針、耳機

Congratulation Card、Hoodie、Balmoral、Brooch、AirPods Pro

Difficulties and Challenges 困難與挑戰

Due to challengers can only submit a under 25Mb file, also cannot crawl data through the Internet, and with the judging focus on technical, creativity, and knowledge, I spent great efforts and time on deciding work’s topic. In addition, this is my first time completing a project using Swift playground instead of XCode project. This is the first time to develop using the Swift Playgrounds app project (.swiftpm). It’s my first time applying to this challenge, and my passion for swift, after countless tries and the help of teacher Pan., I finally succeeded in completing my Swift playground. The outcome is very satisfying for me.

挑戰者只能上傳25Mb以內的專案,也不能透過網路抓取資料,再加上主要評分項目包含技術使用、創意與知識,因此在決定主題與方向上花了不少的心思與時間。另外,在本次的挑戰之前,我主要使用XCode project撰寫iOS App,這次是第一次使用Swift Playgrounds app project (.swiftpm) 開發,但主要還是使用SwiftUI語言作開發。由於是我第一次參加這個挑戰,再加上我對於Swift的熱忱,在經過多次的嘗試與潘老師的幫助下終於成功在playground上建置成功,成果也非常滿意。

Thoughts 感想

I find this event very challenging, and I’ve learned various things from it. Although it was a pity that I didn’t know this event until my senior year, I was very fortunate to be able to participate in this year’s challenge, and I was lucky enough to win an award in the end. For me, it was a very valuable experience, a wonderful memory, and a graduation gift for myself. I’m desperate to attend in WWDC again in the future. Special thanks to National Taiwan Ocean University(NTOU) for providing complete equipment and course, and many thanks to my parents’ support. It’s really a pleasure to be advised by teacher Pan.

我覺得這個競賽相當有挑戰性,也從中學習到不同的知識。雖然到了大四才知道這項活動有些可惜,不過很慶幸能夠參加到今年的挑戰,最後很幸運的也有獲獎。對我來說是一次非常可貴的經驗,也是很美好的回憶,也是送給自己的畢業禮物。期待往後還有機會能夠再次參與WWDC的盛會。我非常感謝國立臺灣海洋大學資訊工程學系提供完善的Mac教室、設備與課程,以及父母一路上的支持,也很榮幸受潘世穎老師的細心教導與幫助。

GitHub & Demo

App Store

--

--